Something New in the Pipeline…

This month marks the start of something new for me in terms of gothic romance. I’ve written a lot of contemporary works in this genre. My novels and stories often have historical threads in them or “double stories” going on.

But the books I’m working on these days are my first real foray into historical gothic romance. The serial set I have rolling out with Musa Publishing takes place in 1830 and beyond and follows the Montmoor family. A spooky estate nestled against the cliffs of Cornwall, a madman, a curse, a nasty ghost, a frightened governess, and dark secrets made this first book fun to write. As the serials progress through edits and first drafts, I keep coming back to one question: how can I include tons of gothic elements and tropes that fans of the genre will love?

The series feels a bit Victoria Holtish but with atmosphere–I hope. That’s always been my pet peeve with Holt’s work. The elements of gothic romance were there in terms of plot setup and characters, but I never felt even a frisson of the spookiness I wanted to experience… in most of her books, anyway. Where were the dimly lit hallways and the strange noises or the threatening Byronic heroes? They make their appearances in some of her works, but many are devoid of such trappings.

My aim is that this serial set will be fun for lovers of the historical gothic romance. The first serial, “The Governess and the Master,” is up for pre-order now in e-book format and will release May 25th. And here’s the gorgeous cover:

Image

You can read an excerpt here. It’s exciting to do something new, and I’m thrilled with my great editors at Musa and that I’m getting the chance to push myself and write in a format I love–the serial. 🙂

http://musapublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=22_8&products_id=287

About Lisa L Greer

I'm a rebelle, other brained type, writer, mom, and wife.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Lisa,

    This area interests me as well. I’ve a WIP of a Steampunk flavored Victorian murder mystery and I hope to not go full horror with it, but to shake hands and rub shoulders with the eerie and creepy side of Gothic. The romantic elements are played down as romance isn’t really my genre, but still the same resonance. Good Post. I’m going to have to add your list to the tilting pile of fantastic reads vying for attention!

    C.K. Garner

  2. Sounds good, C.K.! 🙂

Leave a Reply

